Marta Makita-Wilson Talks Eco Bottle Vision

With so many amazing companies showcasing their new products at the Outdoor Retailer Summer Show we were honored to be interviewed by the folks at Outdoor Retailer Daily/SNEWS. Eco Stream CEO, Marta Makita-Wilson sat down with the Outdoor Retailer Daily staff and talked about the vision for Eco Bottle, the inspiration behind the brand, and what brought her to the Outdoor Retailer Summer Show.

Eco Bottle was introduced at OR as a reusable  bottle that offers style through sustainability. It is a unique Swiss-engineered bottle that features a range of easy open twist and lock, wide mouth, easy-clean bottles that hope to make a difference in people’s lives.

We know Marta is a force to be reckoned with and we’d love to take this opportunity to give those of you who missed the feature some insight into our vision! Learn more about the face behind the bottle Marta Mikita-Wilson through her Q&A session with ORD below:

  1. Tell us about your brands and products?
    Eco Stream, the parent company of Eco Bottle and SodaStream, specializes in bringing new ecological products to Canadians that enhance personal health and the environment. We also  provide solutions that result in a better planet and better you by helping consumers to learn more about environmental issues and how small lifestyle changes can deeply benefit the future of our planet. All Eco Stream  products are “Active Green” products, meaning that consumers are actively reducing their CO2 footprint every time they are used.
  2. What were you, as the founder of the company, doing before this?
    I guess you could say I was a little bit of a “Jack of all trades”In 1983 I emigrated from Poland to Canada as a single mother, which  had a large impact on my career choices.I had had a previous career in fashion running my own sowing business, and later accepted an opportunity to work for Giorgio Armani, but when I first moved to Canada I spent time as a dance choreographer because it allowed me to stay close with my daughter. It was through these experiences that I learned a great deal about branding, and the impact of relationships. Soon after I returned to school and pursued a career working at a rehabilitation center. I knew that I would only ever be successful if I pursued what I was passionate about.

    Ultimately I wanted to make a difference in the lives of other people! As fate would have it my real success came when my husband, David, encouraged me take on SIGG in 2005. Three short years later I had created an amazing platform for SIGG in Canada, growing their business 1200% making the Canadian market the second globally in sales per capita.

    SIGG was only a small step in what would begin the rest of my career. After parting ways with the company I reached out to SodaStream Israel and brought the product to Canada under my company Eco Stream.

    As CEO of Ecostream, I was recently recognized for my efforts to encourage healthy living and presented with the Emerging Business Award at the Woman Entrepreneur of the Year Awards in May. I hope to continue our eco-friendly efforts with the introduction of Eco Bottle.

  3. Where  did your inspiration come from?
    My brother Peter was the one who inspired me to get involved with SodaStream, but ultimately the inspiration came from my entire family. My parents installed me with a will to win and made me a resilient competitors, my husband and brother  encouraged me to take opportunities I wouldn’t have without their support, and my children inspired me to keep going, turning me into a survivor.
  4. What’s   he one best feature of your product?
    The best  physical feature Eco Bottle offers is the Patented Triple Lock System- its quick triple thread tightly seals the bottle with a      mere half turn making Eco Bottle the only reusable bottle that combines functionality and style.
  5. What has been your biggest challenge?
    There are so many bottles in the market. We hope consumers will note that how we differentiate ourselves from other reusable bottles by filling the void in both the functionality and look of the bottles.
  6. Who  do you want to compete against in the industry?
    We are hoping to  encourage a new trend in healthy living by infusing style with sustainability.  Yes, there is a surplus of reusable bottles in the industry, but our  technique and approach is different. Whether you are using Eco bottle, or another reusable bottle brand the ultimate goal is to encourage healthy living through sustainability. Anybody producing eco-friendly and BPA free bottles we look at as peers, not competitors, because we are all doing something different while working toward the same goal. If you’re looking for a healthy, easy, stylish option for hydration, Eco Bottle is the only option!
